2019 Award Winners


Member of the Year


Awarded to a member who has gone above and beyond to support the aims of Fit for the Future over the past year, contributing time, energy and enthusiasm to help us progress and succeed. We couldn't have done it without you!


Nominees: Lucy Smith, Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust & Alan Carr, Sustainability West Midlands


Winner: Olly Watts, Senior Climate Change Policy Officer, RSPB 


Olly has given his time, enthusiasm and commitment to help Fit for the Future staff and members deliver a whole new programme around climate change adaptation. He has enabled us to develop new partnerships with key organisations, shared his knowledge throughout the year with others trying to get to grips with this topic, and has been instrumental in shaping our current strategy and approach. Earlier this year we delivered an adaptation event in partnership with the Met Office, which would not have been possible without his contribution.


 Olly is presented his award by our Network Manager, Fergus Rolfe


Game-Changers of the Year


For a sustainability team or individual that has made a significant contribution to changing the culture around environmental sustainability and climate change action in their organisation or sector. This award recognises the significant impact that one or a few people can make in embedding these issues into organisational strategy and culture.


Nominees: Ealing Council & WWF


Winner:Field Studies Council


The Field Studies Council’s sustainability work is led by Ben and Mark, who have ensured that FSC really are gamechangers in this area of work. Their Trustees have recently announced a climate emergency, they have switched to 100% renewable energy tariff, and over the years have made some incredible energy savings across their portfolio. Over 50% of all energy used is from renewable sources, they have reduced greenhouse gas emissions by 34% since 2011 and emphasise biodiversity at all their sites. Their next goal is to deliver net zero by 2030… They provide inspiration to many of our members.


 Mark and Ben are presented their award by Dr Russell Seymour, Sustainability Manager at Lord's Cricket Ground


Knowledge-Sharer of the Year


Awarded to a member who has been particularly generous with their time, knowledge and expertise this year, supporting fellow members to learn and succeeded in the spirit of openness and honesty. This person has been a shining example of the network values and enabled countless other members to progress with their own environmental sustainability work.


Nominees: Hannah Laywood, Guide Dogs for the Blind & Sarah Alsbury, RSPB


Winner:Oliver Ingwall-King, Energy Advisor, West Suffolk Council 


Oliver has always given his time and knowledge to help other members in the Network, whether at events, over email or through sharing resources and lessons learnt. In the past he has shared his experiences of biomass boilers with others, as well as his energy management knowledge. He has regularly attended Fit for the Future events and contributed to our own materials such as impact reports. This year he delivered a full day of training to support members carry out energy audits, producing a valuable presentation and sharing a whole suite of useful resources following the event.


Oliver was unable to make it to the event, but here he is presenting at our Network Harvest back in 2017


Outstanding Network Newcomer


Awarded to a member who is relatively new to the network but has been engaged from the start, getting stuck into our events and linking up with fellow practitioners to share knowledge and ask questions. Our new members have brought a lot of fresh energy and enthusiasm to the network this year, and this person/these people particularly stand(s) out as having contributed.


Nominees:Neil Clark, Oxfam & Michael Potter, English Heritage


Winner: Anita & Andrew, Historic Royal Palaces


Anita and Andrew have been members of Fit for the Future for 18 months, and have got stuck in right from the off, along with other colleagues in the energy management team. They have  been to numerous Fit for the Future events and are always keen to keep learning and developing their sustainability knowledge. In this relatively short time they have also been fantastic ambassadors of Fit for the Future, encouraging others to get involved and become members.


Andrew is presented the award by Fit for the Future board member, Anna Frizzell


2018 Award Winners

Fit for the Future's inaugural awards were presented by Sir Ed Davey, then chair of Fit for the Future and MP for Kingston and Surbiton, and Sarah Butler Sloss, Founder Director of Ashden.


Fit for the Future award winners


The Change-Maker Award

Winner: Historic Environment Scotland

Change Maker award winners Historic Environment Scotland

Mairi Davies, Climate Change Manager, accepts the award on behalf of Historic Environment Scotland



The Knowledge Sharer Award

Winner: Caroline Cattiti,Senior Building Services Engineer and Energy Manager, Historic England


Caroline Cattit accepts KnowledgeChsrer Award Fit for the Future




Member of the Year Award

Winner: RNLI

Anna Frizzell RNLI accepts Fit for the Future Member of the Year Award

 Anna Frizzell, Sustainability Manager at RNLI, accepts the award on behalf of RNLI


Innovation Award

Winner: Forestry Commission 

 Tegan Pringle, Sustainable Business and National Estates Manager, accepts the award of behalf of Forestry Comission